In January 2020 Russia was estimated to have 532 strategic launchers that can carry about 2100 nuclear warheads. In its September 2019 New START data exchange Russia reported 513 deployed launchers with 1426 New START-accountable nuclear warheads.
The Air and Space Forces performed a successful launch of a Soyuz-2.1b rocket from the launch pad No. 3 of the launch complex No. 43 of the Plesetsk space launch site. The launch took place at 18:17 MSK (15:17 UTC)...
As Sarmat slowly goes through the flight tests (the first one took place in April 2022), construction of silos for the missile has already started. In 2016 the Strategic Rocket Forces announced that Sarmat will be deployed in Uzhur and...
The ministry of defense reported that the deployment of the Avangard system continues at Dombarovskiy/Yasnyy. A video released by TASS shows emplacement of the UR-100NUTTH launcher into one of the silos. Two missiles are likely to begin combat duty by...
Generalissimus Suvorov, a submarine of the Project 955A/Borey-A class, conducted a successful launch of a Bulava missile. The submarine was deployed in the White Sea, the warheads reached their targets at the Kura test site. The launch appears to be...
On 2 November 2022, at 09:48 MSK (06:48 UTC) crews of the Air and Space Forces conducted a successful launch of a Soyuz-2.1b launcher from the launch pad No. 43 of the launch complex No. 4 of the Plesetsk...
On 26 October 2022 Russia conducted an exercise of strategic forces that tested procedures of "a massive nuclear strike in response to a nuclear strike by an adversary." This is an annual exercise that is traditionally held in the fall....
There are a number of episodes in the Cold War history that testify to the dangers of nuclear weapons. There were quite a few close calls and some of these were (much) closer than others. One of them, which is...
On 21 October 2022, at 22:20 MSK (19:20 UTC) crews of the Air and Space Forces conducted a successful launch of a Soyuz-2.1v rocket from the launch pad No. 4 of the launch complex No. 43 of the Plesetsk space...
On 15 October 2022, at 22:55 MSK (19:55 UTC) crews of the Air and Space Forces conducted a successful launch of an Angara 1.2 launcher from the Plesetsk test site. The satellite delivered into orbit was designated Cosmos-2560. It...
The Air and Space Forces conducted a successful launch of a Soyuz-2.1b rocket from the launch pad No. 3 of the launch complex No. 43 of the Plesetsk space launch site. The launch took place at 05:52 MSK (02:52 UTC)...