On May 22, 2020 at 10:31 MSK (07:31 UTC), the Air and Space Forces successfully launched a Soyuz-2.1b launcher from the launch pad No. 4 of the launch complex No. 43 of the Plesetsk site. The satellite delivered to the orbit (by a Fregat booster) will join the space-based segment of the early-warning system.

The satellite was designated Cosmos-2546. Its international designation is 2020-031A.

The satellite is the fourth spacecraft of the new early-warning system, known as EKS or Kupol. The first satellite of the system, Cosmos-2510, was launched in November 2015. The second and third, Cosmos-2518 and Cosmos-2541, were launched in May 2017 and September 2019 respectively. Satellites are deployed on Molniya-type highly elliptical orbits and are said to be capable of detecting launches from all potential missile launch areas. The complete system is expected to include ten satellites on HEO and GEO orbits.