Speaking to journalists today, the Chief of the General Staff, General Nikolai Makarov, unveiled a plan to consolidate the command structure of the Russian armed forces today in the next three to five years. As part of the plan, the number of missile divisions in the Rocket Forces will lose four of the current 12 missile divisions.

As far as I can tell, the 12 divisions in question are the 11 that have operational missiles and Yurya, which does not have deployed missiles on site and is counted as a test range under START treaty rules. If Yurya stays, four other divisions will be liquidated.

We know that the UR-100NUTTH missiles in Kozelsk will stay operational for a while. This means that the candidates for liquidation are likely to be Topol/SS-25 divisions - their missiles are on their way out.

The Teykovo division will stay - its Topol missiles are being replaced by Topol-Ms. This leaves six divisions - Vypolzovo, Yoshkar-Ola, Nizhniy Tagil, Novosibirsk, Irkutsk, and Barnaul. It's hard to say, however, which four of these will go (although some missiles have been withdrawn from the division at Novosibirsk this year). Whichever two remain will likely host Topol-M and its MIRVed RS-24 version.